Marjorie Cotton Award: past recipients

Marjorie Cotton Isherwood was NSW's first professionally qualified children's librarian. She initiated programs that are the basis of services to children in public libraries today.
The Marjorie Cotton Award was created to recognise outstanding contributions to library services for young people. The Award is maintained by the ALIA Children's and Youth Services Group.

Anne Harrison Award: research hot topics

Miss Anne Harrison (1923-1992) was librarian-in-charge of the Brownless Medical Library at the University of Melbourne (1949-1983), and founder of the Central Medical Library Organization (1953-1994). She helped pioneer the introduction of Medline into Australia, and was a founder of the Australian Medical Librarians Group in the early 1970s, and later of the LAA Medical Librarians Section (now ALIA Health Libraries Australia). 

Announcement of the 2019 ALIA NT Recognition Award

The ALIA NT Recognition Awards are an annual merit prize which celebrates and recognises the work of a team or individual working in any sector of the library and information profession in the Northern Territory. There are two awards reflecting the unique geography of the Territory.
In 2019 there were joint winners of the ALIA NT Recognition Award - Alice Springs Public Library Youth Team and the Northern Territory Library.

Library Lovers' Day 2021: social media guide

The theme for Library Lovers' Day 2021 was 'Make a date with your library'. The day is an annual opportunity for people to celebrate the valuable role that libraries play in their lives.
The purpose of this guide is to assist you to run a successful Library Lovers’ Day social media campaign and to promote your library. Running a successful social media campaign will help you to gain attention for your library services, attract more attendees to your library events and increase overall attention for the LIS industry.


Subscribe to RSS - PDF